Central Africa Republic Facts for Kids

  • The Central African Republic is a landlocked country located as its name implies in the central part of Africa.
  • It is bordered by Sudan to the northeast, South Sudan to the east Chad to the north, the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the south, the Republic of the Congo to the southwest and Cameroon to the west.
  • Due to its location the country was one of the last part of Africa to be assessed by Europeans and colonised.
  • The country was a former French territory called Ubangi-Shari, it became the Central African Republic after its independence from France in 1960.



  • The surface area of the Central African Republic is 622,984 km² making the country larger than the European countries of Poland and Italy combined. It is the 20th largest country in Africa.
  • The capital of the Central African Republic is Bangui the city is also the largest city in the country. Other notable cities include Berberati, Kaga-Bandoro, Bambari, Bangassou, Carnot, and Bouar.
  • There are over 70 languages spoken in the Central African Republic but the official language is French and Sango.
  • According to a 2016 estimate the Population of the country is 4,594,621. Around 90% of the population professes Christianity, 15% professes Islam with the remaining 3% professing other religions.



  • The Central African Republic is home to many rivers, some of which are Ubangi River, Mbomou River, Logone River, Ouham River, Kadéï River, Mambéré, Gboyo River, Kotto River, Nana Barya River, Pendé River and Bahr Aouk River. The Ubangi River is the country’s longest river it covers 1060km.
  • There tallest mountain in the Central African Republic is the Karre Mountains which has a height of 4,630 ft. Other notable mountains include
    Mont Abourasséin 3,652 ft,
    Mont Ngaoui 4,626 ft.
    Mont Dir 4,066 ft.
    Mont Gombel 4,064 ft.
    Mont Goundoungan 4,052 ft.
    Jabal Rumbukindi 3,234 ft.
    Djebel Guyamba 2,960 ft.
    Mont Balimbaye 2,727 ft.
    Mont Bai Mbia 2,275 ft.
    and the Mont de Kouka  at 2,069 ft.
  • The Central African Republic is an ethnically diverse country, there are over 80 ethnic groups in the country the dominants are: Baya 33%, Banda 27%, Mandjia 13%, Sara 10%, Mboum 7%, M’Baka 4%, Yakoma 4%, other 2%.
  • Despite its huge Reserve of natural resources like diamonds, gold, uranium, and other minerals the country is still part of the least developed countries of the world. It is a perfect example of a resource rich but poor country.
  • The country’s main Export goods are diamonds, timber, cotton, coffee and tobacco. Revenues from diamond export accounts for 20-30% of export revenues. Its main export partners are Belgium, China, DR Congo, Indonesia and France. Its main import partners are Netherlands, Cameroon, France and South Korea.
  • The Central African Republic has four national parks and they are the André Félix National Park, Bamingui-Bangoran National Park, Dzanga-Ndoki National Park, Mbaéré Bodingué National Park and the Manovo-Gounda St. Floris National Park which also doubles as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. There are also five fauna reserves in the country and they are the Aouk Aoukale Faunal Reserve, Nana Barya Faunal Reserve, Ouandjia Vakaga Faunal Reserve, Yata Ngaya Faunal Reserve, Zemongo Faunal Reserve
  • There are about 3,600 species of plants, 663 birds, 131 mammals, 187 reptiles, and 29 amphibians in the Central African Republic. Almost every animal of the tropics is found in the country and these include The African Elephant, African Rhino, African Buffalo, African Lion, and African Leopard among others.
  • The Central African Republic is home to the magnificent Boali waterFalls which is a 165 feet high and 820 wide. Its super clean water is home to an army of crocodiles which make swimming dangerous.
  • The Central African Republic once had the third largest area of rain forest cover in Africa. Today, while tropical forest covers about 35% of the country, most of this have been degraded by logging.
  • According to a 2017, estimates, 40.65 percent of the Central African Republic’s total population lives in urban areas and cities.
  • The Central African Republic is witnessing a devastating civil war which began in 2012. The war has caused a serious humanitarian disaster. Thousands of lives have been lost
  • The Central African Republic is a member of the United Nations, the African Union, the Economic Community of Central African States, the Organisation internationale de la Francophonie and the Non-Aligned Movement.
  • Like other former France territories, the currency of the landlocked African country is CFA Franc. A dollar is equivalent to 569 CFA Franc.